top of page

The Living Legends Foundation- Press Release

The Living Legends Foundation,® Inc. Celebrates its 27th Anniversary with Annual Awards Gala on Friday, October 5th in Los Angeles

Michael Mauldin, Hurricane Dave Smith, Cynthia Johnson, Eddie Sims and Belinda Wilson, Denise Brown Henderson, Esq., and Pat Shields Named Among 2018 Honorees

(Los Angeles, CA – May 29, 2018) — The Living Legends Foundation,® Inc. (LLF) today announces its 27th-anniversary celebration and the 2018 honorees for the 22nd Annual Living Legends Awards Gala. This year’s event will be held on Friday, October 5, 2018, at 6:30 p.m. at Taglyan Cultural Complex, 1201 N. Vine Street, Hollywood, CA.

The distinguished honorees include Michael Mauldin, CEO of Mauldin Brand, Inc., will be presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award; Hurricane Dave Smith, Vice President of Programming and Operations of Radio One Atlanta, will receive the Jerry Boulding Radio Executive Award; Cynthia Johnson, Senior Vice President of Promotion of Columbia Records, will be presented with the Music Label Executive Award; Eddie Sims and Belinda Wilson, Partners of Moonridge Entertainment International, will receive the Entrepreneur Award; Denise Brown Henderson, Esq., Principal, will be presented with the first-ever Mike Bernardo Executive Award, which will be given to an outstanding female executive for demonstrating excellence in music and entertainment; and Pat Shields, Partner of Black Dot LLC, will receive the A.D. Washington Chairman’s Award.

The Living Legends Foundation Honorary Chairperson of the Awards Dinner and Gala is Sylvia Rhone, President of Epic Records; and the Event Chairperson is Azim Rashid, Senior Vice President of Promotion of Roc Nation.

The Living Legends Foundation continues its mission to honor the best and the brightest in the ever-changing and evolving music and entertainment industries. The foundation’s core mission is to honor pioneers and professionals who have broken new ground in the areas of broadcasting, recorded music, marketing, retail, publicity, publishing, digital, creative, and philanthropy.

“On behalf of the Board of Directors, we are elated to salute this group of industry trailblazers,” said David C. Linton, Chairman of the Living Legends Foundation, Inc. “This year, we are introducing a new award and rebranding another to memorialize two industry icons and former board members, Mike Bernardo and A.D. Washington respectively. Both were giants in the business who broke many artists, groomed executives and dedicated themselves to the foundation. This is an event for the entire industry, and we invite you to help us celebrate these unsung heroes while raising funds to assist the less fortunate among us. It’s going to be a special night.”

In 1991, record industry legends Ray Harris, Barbara Lewis, C.C. Evans, and the late Jerry Boulding founded the Living Legends Foundation,® Inc. Over the years, the organization has recognized and honored more than 100 distinguished leaders in music, radio, retail, and media. Past honorees include, in alphabetical order: Brenda Andrews, Larkin Arnold, Clarence Avant, Lee Bailey, Big Boy, Jamie Brown, Troy Carter, Ray Chew and Vivian Scott Chew, Keith Clinkscales, Kenny Gamble, Jack “The Rapper” Gibson, Tony Gray, Ethiopia Habtemariam, Jeffrey Harleston, Stephen Hill, Leon Huff, Cathy Hughes, Don Jackson, Hal Jackson, Larry Jackson, Varnell Johnson, Quincy Jones, Larry Khan, Morace Landy, Vicki Mack Lataillade and Claude Lataillade, Miller London, Rushion McDonald, Kendall Minter, Esq., Jon Platt, Antonio “L.A.” Reid, Ruben Rodriguez, Aundrae Russell, Herb Trawick, Charles Warfield, Dr. Logan H. Westbrooks, Tyrone Williams, and numerous others.

The Living Legends Foundation,® Inc. is a registered 501 (c) (3) non-profit, tax-exempt organization and has been funded primarily with corporate contributions and individual donations. The 27-year-old organization has expanded its mission to assist those who have served the music industry and who have a confirmable need. This assistance is provided in a manner that maintains the dignity of those who may receive financial help. Many former music industry employees worked during a time when 401Ks and retirement packages were not available—and even today, in this era of downsizing and mergers, the industry’s lack of long-term career stability has become more commonplace. Proceeds from the event will enable the LLF to continue to aid those in need, as well as fund the Living Legends Foundation Scholarship Program, which helps the educational pursuits of the next generation of music makers and marketers at three HBCUs.

The Living Legends Foundation Officers and Board Members include Chairman David Linton, President Varnell Johnson, Vice-President Jacqueline Rhinehart, Recording Secretary Pat Shields, founder and Treasurer C.C. Evans, and General Counsel Kendall Minter, Esq. Board Members include Vinny Brown, Sheila Eldridge, Marcus Grant, Tony Gray, Ken Johnson, Barbara Lewis, Miller London, Sidney Miller, Kathi Moore, Jon Platt, Gwendolyn Quinn, Sam Weaver, and Colleen Wilson.

The Living Legends Foundation Advisory Board includes a list of distinguished entertainment executives, including founder Ray Harris, Monica Alexander, Vivian Scott Chew, Don Cody, George Daniels, Brad Davidson, Michael Dawson, Esq., Skip Dillard, Kevin Fleming, Shannon Henderson, James Leach, Vicki Mack Lataillade, Gail Mitchell, Azim Rashid, Lionel Ridenour, Kevin Ross, A.J. Savage, T.C. Thompkins, Irene Ware, Tyrone Williams, Buzzy Willis, and Tony Winger.

For tickets and sponsorship information, please contact Pat Shields at 310.568.9091 or

For additional information on the Living Legends Foundation, please visit

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us on
  • Wix Facebook page
  • Wix Twitter page
  • SoundCloud Social Icon
  • instagram-logo-png.png
bottom of page