top of page

The Living Legends Foundation,® Inc. Celebrates its 19th Annual Awards Gala

The Foundation Returns to Los Angeles

for its Second Year on Friday, October 9

Distinguished Honorees Include Ruben Rodriguez,

Kendall Minter, Esq., Jeffrey Harleston, Troy Carter, Big Boy,

Vicki Mack Lataillade and Claude Lataillade,

Dr. Logan H. Westbrooks, Don Cody, Gwendolyn Quinn,

James Leach, and Carter Broadcast Group

(New York, NY – July 14, 2015) — The Living Legends Foundation,® Inc. (LLF) today announces the 2015 honorees for its 19th Living Legends Awards Celebration. The organization returns to Los Angeles for its second awards dinner and gala. The event will be held on Friday, October 9, at 7:00 p.m. at Taglyan Cultural Complex, 1201 N. Vine Street, Hollywood, CA.

The Living Legends Foundation,® Inc. will honor eleven distinguished individuals and one radio broadcast company at this year’s event. Ruben Rodriguez, CEO of Ruben Rodriguez Entertainment will be presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award. Kendall Minter, Esq., CEO of Minter & Associates, LLC will receive the Chairman’s Award. Troy Carter, CEO and founder of Atom Factory will be presented with the Entrepreneur Award. Jeffrey Harleston, General Counsel and Executive Vice-President of Universal Music Group will receive the Music Label Executive Award. Vicki Mack Lataillade and Claude Lataillade, founders of Gospo Centric and B-Rite Music will be presented with the first-ever Gospel Music Executive Award. Dr. Logan H. Westbrooks, author, entrepreneur, and philanthropist will receive the Vanguard Award for his humanitarian efforts. James Leach, Vice President of Writer/Publisher Relations of SESAC will be presented with the Entertainment Advocate Award. Gwendolyn Quinn, founder and President of Gwendolyn Quinn Pubic Relations and founder of the African American Public Relations Collective (AAPRC) will receive the Media Award. Big Boy, Host of Big Boy in the Morning on Real 92.3 (Los Angeles’s KKRL-FM) will be presented with the Jerry Boulding Radio Executive/Personality Award. Don Cody, CEO of Moses Media will receive the Digital Visionary Award. The Carter Broadcast Group will be presented with the Broadcasting Icon Award, which will be accepted by President Michael Carter. The chairpersons for the Living Legends Awards Dinner and Gala are Jon Platt, President, North America of Warner Chappell Music Publishing Company and Brenda Andrews, former Senior Vice-President of Rondor Music International. This year’s Dinner Chairperson is Pat Shields, Partner of Black Dot, LLC.

Those selected to be honored at the annual awards event are industry pioneers or professionals who are breaking new ground in the arenas of recorded music, broadcasting or any of the allied fields such as publicity, marketing and publishing, to name a few. “We are excited to return to Los Angeles for this year’s awards ceremony,” says David Linton, Chairman of the Living Legends Foundation. “This year marks the 24th year of the Living Legends Foundation. As we approach our 25th anniversary, we will continue to expand the organization’s core mission and develop long-term programs to ensure the well-being of our music executives and industry personalities. This year’s honorees reflect the diversity and growth in a challenging business that is ever changing.”

In 1991, record industry legends Ray Harris, Barbara Lewis, C.C. Evans and the late Jerry Boulding founded the Living Legends Foundation,® Inc. Over the years, the organization has recognized and honored over 100 distinguished leaders in music, radio, retail and media. Past honorees include Quincy Jones, Clarence Avant, Kenny Gamble, Leon Huff, Cathy Hughes, Stephen Hill, Antonio “LA” Reid, Rushion McDonald, Jon Platt, Keith Clinkscales, Ethiopia Habtemariam, Larkin Arnold, Brenda Andrews, the late Hal Jackson, the late Jack “The Rapper” Gibson, Charles Warfield, Aundrae Russell, Lee Bailey and numerous others.

The Living Legends Foundation,® Inc. is a registered 501 (c) (3) non-profit, tax-exempt organization and has been funded primarily with corporate contributions and individual donations. The 24-year-old organization has expanded its mission to provide assistance to those who have served the music industry and who have a confirmable need. This assistance is provided in a manner that maintains the dignity of those who may receive financial help. Many former music industry employees worked during a time when 401K’s and retirement packages were not available—and even today, in this era of downsizing and mergers, the uncertainty of career stability within the industry has grown. Proceeds from the event will enable the LLF to continue to aid those in need.

The Living Legends Foundation Officers and Board Members include Chairman David Linton, President Varnell Johnson, Vice-President Jacqueline Rhinehart, Recording Secretary Pat Shields, founder and Treasurer C.C. Evans and General Counsel Kendall Minter, Esq. Board members include co-founder Barbara Lewis, Vinny Brown, Marcus Grant, Ken Johnson, Miller London, Sidney Miller, Jon Platt, Gwendolyn Quinn, A.D. Washington, Sam Weaver, Colleen Wilson and Ken Wilson.

The Living Legends Foundation Advisory Board includes a list of distinguished entertainment executives including founder Ray Harris, Monica Alexander, George Daniels, Brad Davidson, Skip Dillard, Kevin Fleming, Tony Gray, Shannon Henderson, Allen Johnston, Kathi Moore, Alonzo Robinson, Kevin Ross, TC Thompkins, Irene Ware and Buzzy Willis. For tickets and sponsorship information, please contact Pat Shields at 310.568.9091, or

For additional information on the Living Legends Foundation, please visit

. www.livinglegendsfoundation

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us on
  • Wix Facebook page
  • Wix Twitter page
  • SoundCloud Social Icon
  • instagram-logo-png.png
bottom of page